Te Tohu Rangatira Health Awards

Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Te Tohu Rangatira health awards have been postponed until late February

Kia tāea e te whānau me te hāpori i tōna ake tino rangatiratanga

Together we build resilient communities, empowering whānau and individuals to determine their own wellbeing


Since our last awards in 2019, the health sector has gone through significant changes as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and proposed health system reform. However, one thing remains constant - the dedication and innovation of our local health and wellbeing sectors in working with our communities.


As an integral part of our DHB whānau and community, it is important we take time to reflect on the great mahi being undertaken across the wider Whanganui rohe and celebrate your successes. I invite you to enter or nominate an individual or team who deserves acknowledgement.


This year, our awards are based on service to achieving He Hāpori Ora  - Thriving Communities, with categories related to our focus areas of Pro-Equity, Social Governance and Healthy at Home Every Bed Matters (69,000 beds). Our 2021 awards are open to all DHB staff, health, wellness and disability service providers or individuals, working to benefit the health and wellbeing of individuals, whānau and communities within the Whanganui District Health Board rohe.


From our team within the hospital, in our community teams, primary health, community and non-government organisations and our wonderful volunteers, we look forward to celebrating your achievements as part of the wider health team. I encourage you to let us celebrate in your successes, no matter how small the idea or achievement, please consider submitting an application across one of the 14 categories.


You can find a link to the He Hāpori Ora Thriving Communities Strategic Direction 2020-2023 document below. 



Russell Simpson  |  Kaihautū Hauora - WDHB Chief Executive 

Click on the links below to apply now! 

APPLY HERE - Te Tohu Rangatira Award application


APPLY HERE - Health and safety award application


APPLY HERE - Shirley O'Rourke award application


Application information booklet


Sponsorship document


He Hāpori Ora Thriving Communities Strategic Direction 2020-2023