Hauora A Iwi

Hauora A Iwi is the intertribal forum established by a confederation of six iwi to be the high-level strategic partner with Whanganui DHB.

The primary function of Hauora A Iwi is to contribute to the advancement of Māori health outcomes and ensure access and delivery of health services to Māori in the WDHB area. Hauora A Iwi is made up of iwi (tribal entities who have influence within, or partly within, the WDHB region) and their organisations which represent tangata whenua. On behalf of the iwi collectives in which they represent, the Hauora A Iwi Relationship Board provides advice the WDHB on the needs and aspirations for the health and wellbeing of the region's Māori population. Hauora A Iwi aims to assist the WDHB in its efforts to reduce health disparities by improving the health and wellbeing outcomes of Māori.

Iwi recognised by the WDHB and represented on Hauroa A Iwi are:

  • Whanganui
  • Ngā Rauru Kitahi
  • Ngāti Apa
  • Mokai Patea
  • Ngāti Hauiti
  • Ngati Rangi.

The work of Hauora A Iwi, to date, has been focused on providing advice and strengthening the iwi governance partnership with the WDHB. They have continued to instil a Whanau Ora philosophy into the district health board purchasing strategy for Kaupapa Māori Services - even before the recent policy directive specific to Whanau Ora. And this has been reflected in the shift towards integrated contracts across all the Kaupapa Māori Services and a shared model of working across these providers. Quarterly board-to-board meetings between Hauora a Iwi and the WDHB have contributed to the influence of Hauora a Iwi.

The current membership of Hauora A Iwi includes the following Iwi representatives:

Mary Bennett (Chair) Ngā Rauru Kītahi
Hayden Potaka Ngā Rauru Kītahi
Maraea Bellamy Mōkai Patea
Barbara Ball Mōkai Patea
James Allen Ngā Wairiki / Ngāti Apa
Grace Taiaroa (Deputy Chair) Ngā Wairiki / Ngāti Apa
Sharlene Tapa-Mosen Tupoho/Whanganui
Te Aroha McDonnell Tamaupoko Whanganui

Click here to view the Hauora A Iwi + WDHB Manatu Whakaaetanga Memorandum of Understanding