Clinical Governance

Our clinical governance structure is designed to enable the clinical board to maintain a strategic focus, work across all Te Whatu Ora Whanganui functions, not just the hospital, and to ensure all clinical governance activities are well co-ordinated and connected.

Vital to the clinical governance arrangements are the service or topic-specific committees. It is in these committees and groups that the real work on continuing to improve patient safety and the quality of our services needs to take place.


Current members of the clinical board are:



Amanda van Elswijk

Clinical Nurse Manager AT&R Ward

Bernd Kraus

Consultant Geriatrician


Declan Rogers

Nurse Manager Surgical Services

Frank Rawlinson

Chief Medical Officer


John McMenamin

Board member, WRHN

Kim Fry, Chair

Director Allied Health

Louise Allsopp

Manager, Patient Safety & Service Quality

Louise Torr

Business Manager Medical Management Unit

Lucy Adams

Director of Nursing

Marco Meier

Head of Department Anaesthetics

Megan Geertson

Pharmacy Manager

Rihi Karena

Kaitakitaki, Clinical Services Manager Te Hau Ranga Ora


Vacant (Lucy Pettit acting)

Maternity Advisor

The clinical board is supported by Te Whatu Ora Whanganui clinical board secretary Deborah Mansor.